Portal Login

California: Title 20, Title 24, JA8

Title 20

Title 20 is a set of energy efficiency regulations established by the California Energy Commission that governs various products and appliances.

Two main categories are impacted. State-Regulated LED Lamps and State-Regulated Small Diameter Directional Lamps. Download our Title 20 sheet for a complete overview of approved Title 20 products.

Title 24

The California Energy Commission (CEC) releases specific code requirements for new construction and major renovation of existing buildings in California. LED product requirements are unique for different applications, building use types, etc. but focus on efficacy, color rendering, and product longevity. Full details are outlined in the current CA 2016 Building Energy Efficiency Standards.

Title 24 compliance is contingent on many variables of a proposed project in addition to product performance, but GREEN CREATIVE can help!


The  CEC’s new Building Energy Efficiency Standards took effect on January 1, 2017. The new standards focus on several key areas to improve the energy efficiency of new residential homes, including requiring all newly constructed single-family homes, townhouses and dwelling units of new multifamily buildings to use high efficacy lighting. To qualify as “high efficacy,” light sources must meet the requirements laid out in the recently updated Joint Appendix Section 8 (JA8). JA8 regulations focus on performance and lighting quality to increase consumer adoption of high efficacy lighting as well as provide the consumers/end users with a broader choice of lighting solutions.

Lighting that does not automatically qualify as high efficacy must be certified with the CEC as compliant with JA8. To qualify, products must meet specific efficacy, power factor, CCT, CRI, lifetime, dimming and flicker requirements.

Products that must meet JA8 requirements include:

    Ceiling recessed downlight luminaires
    Light sources in enclosed luminaires
    LED luminaires with integral sources
    Screw based LED lamps
    Pin based LED lamps
    GU-24 based LED light sources

Recessed downlight luminaires and enclosed luminaires must contain a JA8-compliant light source and meet the elevated temperature requirements. Light sources which automatically qualify as high efficacy must still meet JA8 requirements if installed in a ceiling recessed downlight or enclosed luminaire.

To obtain JA8 certification, manufacturers must test their products at an accredited test laboratory and submit the results to the CEC. The Appliance Efficiency Database database containing JA8-compliant products may be found here.

All JA8-compliant lamps must appear in the CEC database and be marked as either JA8-2016 or JA8-2016-E if suitable for use in enclosed luminaires at elevated temperatures. Only “JA8-2016-E” lamps may be used in enclosed and recessed luminaires.

GREEN CREATIVE US headquarters are in California and we are proud to support these efforts in our home state, look for these logos on our product detail pages, specification sheets, and on many of our product packages themselves.

Q & A

What is the difference between Title 20 and Title 24?

Title 20 and Title 24 are efficiency standards developed by the California Energy Commission (CEC). Title 20 pertains to appliances and Title 24 covers energy efficiency in buildings. Both standard sets include requirements for lamps and luminaires (fixtures). For a product to be sold in California, it must comply with the Title 20 standard. If the product will be used in a new construction, it must meet the Title 24 requirement as well.

Which lighting products are affected by Title 20?

Two main product categories are impacted: State-Regulated LED Lamps (SLEDs) and State-Regulated Small Diameter Directional Lamps (SDDLs).

SLEDs are categorized as:

    Having an E12, E17, E26, or GU-24 base
    Producing between 200 and 2,600 lumens (products with candelabra bases produce 150+ lumens)
    Having a CCT between 2200K and 7000K and Duv between -0.012 and 0.012
    Retrofit kits with E12, E17, E26, or GU24 bases

SDDLs are categorized as:

    Operating at 12V, 24V, or 120V
    Having an E26 base or being pin-based and compliant with ANSI ANSLG C81.61-2009 (R2014)
    Having a diameter of less than 2.25″
    Producing less than 850 lumens with a wattage equivalency of less than a 75w incandescent lamp

How can a SLED or SDDL be sold in California under Title 20?

Lamps must meet design and performance standards, certified by the CEC and listed in California’s Modernized Appliance Efficiency Database System (MAEDBS) as Title 20 compliant.

What is the difference between Tier 1 and Tier 2 standards in Title 20?

Requirements for LED lamps were introduced in two phases: Tier 1 was rolled out on January 1, 2019, and covered efficiency and performance requirements. Tier 2’s effective date was July 1, 2019, and included higher general standards as well as added standards for SDDLs.

What is JA8?

JA8 is Joint Appendix 8 in Title 24. This appendix specifies the requirements a light source such as an LED lamp or array needs to meet to be used in residential buildings.

Which products are required to be JA8-certified for residential applications in California?

High-efficacy light sources should comply with one of the two groups below.

Light sources in this group need to be certified as JA8-compliant in order to meet the Title 24 requirements:

    LED luminaires with integral sources
    Screw-based LED lamps
    Pin-based LED lamps
    GU-24 based LED light source
    Recessed Ceiling Lights: Recessed downlights cannot be screw-based and must use an insulation contact & airtight-rated (ICAT) can

With the exception of recessed downlight luminaires, light sources in this group are automatically classified as high-efficacy and are not required to comply with JA8:

    Pin-based linear fluorescent
    Pin-based compact fluorescent
    GU-24 other than LEDs
    Inseparable SSL luminaires with colored light sources for decorative lighting
    Pulse-start metal halide
    High-pressure sodium
    Luminaires with a hardwired high-frequency generator and induction lamps
    Inseparable SSL luminaires that are installed outdoors

What is the difference between residential and non-residential categories under Title 24?

Title 24 includes requirements for both residential and nonresidential buildings. Residential buildings are single-family homes and low-rise residential buildings with three or fewer stories. Nonresidential buildings include hotels, motels, and high-rise apartments (over three stories in height).

How can compliance be achieved for nonresidential/commercial applications?

Nonresidential compliance can be achieved by combining control strategies for different space types (warehouses, classrooms, parking lots, etc.). Generally, as long as a lighting product meets or is outside the scope of Title 20 and can be continuously dimmed, it can be used in a nonresidential application.